Deleted characters on Friend List?

1 pages Page 1
Alana
Alana
Academy Page
#1
Hello all,

I searched the forums for this issue but didn't come up with anything, so here goes: If someone was to delete their main character, would that change be reflected on your Friend List? The list reverts to the name of the character you first put on the list, but if that character was deleted, would you still see them online with their new character? It seems like you should be able to; it should be linked to account and not character name...but I was just wondering if anyone had a definitive answer on that.

Thanks in advance!
Teklord
Teklord
Krytan Explorer
#2
I'm not 100% on this however I've deleted my first character that I ever created. My friends can still see me when I'm online via the friends list and I can assume it still uses that old characters name. This part I an say with certainty... anytime I create a Guild announcement, it uses the name of my first character which no longer exists.
J
Judas Hawksriff
Frost Gate Guardian
#3
it is linked to the account - not the character name - if they're online, it changes so you see the name of the character thats being played with - not any older/delete or other characters. This is why you only add a friend to your list once - not per character they have.

As for the guild announcment - its always in the name of the character that created the guild
Teklord
Teklord
Krytan Explorer
#4
Guild Annoucement: not true. I didn't create the Guild, I'm an officer.

And a bit more on the friends list. The name that appears on the friends list as the primary can be any character on your account - its whichever one the person adding you to their list uses. Subsequent logins with other characters will make you appear online as that first character with the character you are currently using placed in brackets.

Example: Friend adds me to their list while I'm online as Tess Stormcrow. Later I come online as a different character (Tyr), the entry in that person's friend list will look like: Tess Stormcrow (Lord Tyr Anasazi)
Set
Set
Academy Page
#5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teklord
Guild Annoucement: not true. I didn't create the Guild, I'm an officer.

And a bit more on the friends list. The name that appears on the friends list as the primary can be any character on your account - its whichever one the person adding you to their list uses. Subsequent logins with other characters will make you appear online as that first character with the character you are currently using placed in brackets.

Example: Friend adds me to their list while I'm online as Tess Stormcrow. Later I come online as a different character (Tyr), the entry in that person's friend list will look like: Tess Stormcrow (Lord Tyr Anasazi)
Question: If I deleted all my characters, would people still see me on their friends list? I'm thinking by your discription that nobody would see you at all. I believe this may be true, but I'm unsure.

Just wondering if someone wanted to start over fresh, if they could.
majoho
majoho
Forge Runner
#6
Yes, as mentioned above the friend/ignore list is not attached to the actual name of the char but to the whole account (meaning all chars).
A
Astro Pubes
Frost Gate Guardian
#7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Set
Question: If I deleted all my characters, would people still see me on their friends list? I'm thinking by your discription that nobody would see you at all. I believe this may be true, but I'm unsure.

Just wondering if someone wanted to start over fresh, if they could.
yes. what they will see is the name that you originally went by.. IE my name is Astro Pubes, i delete him as well as all my other characters it'll show up as Astro Pubes ( New Name Here ) on the friends list. as with one of my friends who had all his characters deleted, it still shows up his name the original one, and then the new ones in ( ) it would be like you're signing on with another character.
Set
Set
Academy Page
#8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astro Pubes
yes. what they will see is the name that you originally went by.. IE my name is Astro Pubes, i delete him as well as all my other characters it'll show up as Astro Pubes ( New Name Here ) on the friends list. as with one of my friends who had all his characters deleted, it still shows up his name the original one, and then the new ones in ( ) it would be like you're signing on with another character.
So if you want to start out again without anyone knowing who you are you would have to buy another account. Interesting...
A
Astro Pubes
Frost Gate Guardian
#9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Set
So if you want to start out again without anyone knowing who you are you would have to buy another account. Interesting...
that or just go perma-offline
The Herbalizer
The Herbalizer
<3 Ecto
#10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alana
Hello all,

I searched the forums for this issue but didn't come up with anything, so here goes: If someone was to delete their main character, would that change be reflected on your Friend List? The list reverts to the name of the character you first put on the list, but if that character was deleted, would you still see them online with their new character? It seems like you should be able to; it should be linked to account and not character name...but I was just wondering if anyone had a definitive answer on that.

Thanks in advance!
K it works like this: -

Main character on friends list = The Herbalizer

Deletes The Herbalizer

New char = Herbalizer

Friends list shows = The Herbalizer (Herbalizer)

If you remove the herbalizer and try re-adding it wont work

I think if you delete all it would still show your original name with the new name next to it in brackets or whatever it is